10 E 53rd St, New York, NY 10022
212 888 7770

Patient Testimonials

Shafer Plastic Surgery
5 5 Star Rating based on 65 reviews
10 E 53rd St., New York, NY 10022

Finding David Shafer, was like stumbling into a gold mine in my back yard

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 8, 2016

I am a 71-year-old granny who has met a couple of the top Plastic Surgeons in New York City a decade or so ago. Finding David Shafer, was like stumbling into a gold mine in my back yard…


My experience with Dr. S was outstanding

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 8, 2016

My experience with Dr. S was outstanding. His staff was very nice and helpful.


I refer him to others without hesitation

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 8, 2016

Dr. Shafer was referred to me, and I refer him to others without hesitation. He is not only an expert plastic surgeon, but is able to put us at ease, reduce our stress, and make us look great.


My results look very natural

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 8, 2016

I recently had Botox with Dr. Shafer. It was my first time for any cosmetic procedure. I think he did a very nice job. My results look very natural.


My daughter told me that I look just the way she remembers meeting me

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 8, 2016

After my facelift, my daughter told me that I look just the way she remembers meeting me.


Really Happy with my Sexier Lips by Dr. David Shafer – Plus No Bruising. Ready for New Years Eve & 2016 – New York

5 5 Star Rating - Written on December 30, 2015

I wanted a pick-me-up for 2016 and have wondered for a long time about adding a bit of sexy to my lips. Embarrassed to say — but Kylie Jenner’s new lips are what got me thinking. Dr. Shafer said many patients ask about hers so I felt better to hear that (I am in my 40s). My lips were fine before but a little boring so I thought why not try to look better. He started me with a numbing cream. I was so nervous my palms were sweating but I promise it didn’t hurt at all! Dr. Shafer was needle motions were gentle, relaxed. The shape is BEAUTIFUL and I got to look in a mirror several times during the process. He did my upper lip first, then lower, then a bit more to the upper. He used one full needle which is 1 cc (I asked – Juviderm ultra). He said he was sticking to my God given lip shape but just enhancing and that is what I got. I used an ice pack in Dr. Shafer’s office and then used two more at home for about 15 minutes. I do not have any bruising what’s so ever. I know every one is different but I look great NOW. There probably is some swelling but if so, it isn’t noticeable at all or a bad thing. This was just a great experience and I have much nicer lips. Dr. Shafer knows what he is doing and is so pleasant.


Breast Reduction and Lift F to B – New York

5 5 Star Rating - Written on December 30, 2015

Brilliant yet compassionate physician with keen eye and architect’s skill for design. Dr. Shafer has reinvented the doctor-patient relationship and he and his staff treat patients as partners/equals. Most comfortable office, surgery and post op experience I’ve ever had… He and his team go the extra mile pre and post op so you never feel like a “number” or alone. A reduction and lift in breasts my size generally have high complication rates or less than optimal aesthetic outcomes – however in my case due to Dr Shafer’s skill they are even, beautifully shaped and with minimal scarring. Far exceeded my expectations.


My Beautiful Breasts at 54 Years!! – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on November 11, 2015

Dr. Shafer is wonderful. He is honest and warm. He was very thorough and took his time with me as I was trying to decide the shape and size. He was there for me, whenever I had a concern or question I got his reply within minutes. I highly recommend Dr. Shafer, you won’t be sorry.


perfect! – New York

5 5 Star Rating - Written on November 8, 2015

I have been to many plastic surgeons/ dermotologists for botox and filler and Dr Shafer is by far the best!!!
I have never had any brusing or irritation.
Dr Shafer is gentle and knowledgable- even told me to wait on a few treatments i wanted to do as he felt i didnt need them just yet! Hard to find a Dr like this!!
Glad i did!!! Thank you Dr S!!!!


29 Year Old Woman Wants Her Body Back – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on November 8, 2015

He was very friendly, knowledgable, and honest. He let me know that my results will not be perfect. I don’t want perfection I just want something better than what I have now. He told me that all of my stretchmarks below the belly button will be removed in my tummy tuck. The stretchmarks above my belly button will remain but will be on the lower section of my stomach. I’m okay with my Mommy stripes. I just no longer want to see an old lady’s stomach when I look in the mirror. If he can give me a little piece of my old self back then I’ll love him forever!


Breast Lift- Dr. David Shafer – New York

5 5 Star Rating - Written on April 12, 2015

I HIGHLY recommend Dr. Shafer for this procedure. Having a breast lift can be scary because of the scarring, but the way I look 2 weeks post op I truly believe I will have no visible scaring within the next few months. Thanks Dr. Shafer!!! All I can say is thank goodness you’re young because I’m going to need you in the future :-) I do not want to grow old gracefully :-)


Non- Surgical Facelift – New York

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 27, 2015

Highly skilled injector and great bedside manner. Extremely knowledgable with all of the injectables.


Award Winning Solo Performer Desperate to Get Rid of Her Double Chin Finds Dr. Shafer and Her Life is Transformed! – New York

5 5 Star Rating - Written on September 3, 2014

Firstly, as a surgeon, this man is a miracle worker, as he combines supreme surgical expertise with exquisite artistry. This, I’m sure, is the main reason why he is rated as the TOP in his field. But also, Dr. Shafer listens. He will sit and hear your concerns. He is extremely unusual in this way. It is clear by all who spend time with Dr. Shafer in a consultation that he is one of the most open-hearted and empathic human beings you will ever meet. And these character traits are evident, as well, in his entire staff. His coordinator Eileen is gifted at making you feel at ease and anxiety free — and her kindness is palpable. I will go so far as to call Dr. Shafer a genius. Finding Dr. Shafer is one of the LUCKIEST things to ever happen to me in my life.


21- Male Lip Filler – New York

5 5 Star Rating - Written on August 23, 2014

Dr. Shafer and staff was amazing. He was super helpful in answering any questions I had and I was confident he would do the best job possible. I will continue to get work done from him.


Restylane – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on August 9, 2014

I had restylane for upper cheek, tear trough 1 vial. I purchased a voucher on Gilt city. I really didn’t need more than that. No bruising, minimal swelling. Dr. Shafer was great. I would definitely use him again. So far I’m liking the results, nobody notices and I just look refreshed. I will update if anything develops.


25 Year Old No Kids, Breast Implants Incision Under Breasts, 400cc – Manhattan, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 12, 2014

He was amazing! Sweetest most down to earth guy and I felt so comfortable with him. He listened and delivered!


31 y.o. Mother of 2 finally feeling confident again after tummy tuck with MR/lipo

5 5 Star Rating - Written on March 5, 2014

I chose Dr. Shafer because he is double board certified as well as a Top Doc here on Realself. I knew immediately from my first consultation that he was the man for the job. In addition to his surgical expertise, he has a wonderful bedside manner and is really down to earth and easy to talk to. Everything was explained to me in detail, and all of my questions were answered. His staff is also amazing. I was in touch with Fi, the surgical coordinator, over the course of several months, and she was always quick to respond to my e-mails/calls. I live in NJ and traveled to NYC to have this surgery. I didn’t mind in the least because I knew I was in good hands. I would highly recommend this surgeon to anyone looking to have this procedure, or any other procedure for that matter. His work is beautiful. My incision is low, easily covered, and thin. I plan on using Dr. Shafer for breast lift and augmentation next. Another thing that sealed the deal for me was having this surgery with epidural and IV sedation. I was really afraid of general anesthesia, and not many surgeons perform the surgery without it. I was made very comfortable by the anesthesiologist and nursing staff. Extremely happy customer!!!


33 Years Old Mom, 2 Toddlers Under 3. – Little York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on February 12, 2014

Dr. Shafer was extremely nice, warm and mostly listen to my concerns and fears. He recommended botox which he perform in my first visit. Dr. Shafer is very knowledgable and doesn’t push other products or services which I appreciate. My eyes and face look great and I couldn’t be happier.
He also recommend to see his aesthetician Dex, so he could analyze my skin and create a game plan for my sun damage face.


BBL – New York

5 5 Star Rating - Written on February 12, 2014

Dr. Shafer is charing me a LOT more, but I feel so much safer and confident. This is a major surgery and I’m not going to risk my body and my life just to save money. So far he has been great. I went to a few consultations and felt really comfortable with him. He’s kind, honest and funny. His staff, particularly Fiorhina (“Fi”) are just phenomenal. I have called Fi almost every day this week and she has been nothing but helpful and friendly. Dr. Shafer also told me he had lipo done, so he knows exactly what it’s like and what to expect. That really made me feel a lot better to know that.


Botched Breast Surgery Made Right! Thank You Endlessly, Dr. Shafer! – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on September 11, 2013

Dr. Shafer is truly a brilliant plastic surgeon. He is a doctor with a heart of gold, who genuinely cares and listens to your concerns. Additionally, I commend Dr. Shafer’s amicable staff. Elaine, his assistant, was especially kindhearted and made sure to follow up with me every step of the way.
Most importantly, Dr. Shafer produces positive results and is fully equip with the latest innovative technology to meet your goals.


10 Years Younger – Manhattan, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on August 9, 2013

I’m not one to enjoy any type of needle and that fear was holding me back. Thanks to my best friend who urged me to give botox and Dr.Shafer a try. He was kind, quick, i didn’t feel a thing. Shortly after my visit, I started to see a smooth wrinkle free face. I look 10 years younger. Thanks Dr Shafer. See you soon and you’re incredible.


Feel Great Look Great Thanks Dr. Shafer New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 31, 2013

Dr Schafer is not only an artist in his own right as a plastic surgeon , but he is thorough , calming , honest , and very caring about all his patients From the first visit I felt like I was his only patient , he took his time listened to my concerns and showed me my options He and his staff are the top of the line you could not find a better surgeon then him Thanks for letting me feel young and sexy again


Eyelid Facelift Neck Lift -Manhattan, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 24, 2013

listen, warm, compassion ,honest,humble , beside all he is a great artistic plastic surgeon and all the staff are very nice


1 Year Post Op. Still loving my results!

5 5 Star Rating - Written on April 25, 2013

Great consultation. Made me feel at ease about the procedure. Answered all of my questions.


I’ve Found my New Doctor! – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on February 28, 2013

If you’re on the fence about which doctor to choose, look no further. I’ve seen several decent cosmetic surgeons and dermatologists in the past, but Dr. Shafer is truly is a cut above the rest. You simply won’t find a more down to earth, caring doctor that is skilled in so many different areas. The icing on the cake? His entire staff is accommodating, kind and professional. I’m so very pleased to have found my new doctor!


Best Plastic Surgery Experience Ever – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on February 13, 2013

I found dr shafer through word of mouth from another doctor…..

from the consult through the post surgical experience I was overwhelmingly impressed with the degree of professional care and expertise from dr. shafer….he even made a house call the following day after surgery as part of his routine aftercare…..the outcome was awesome and still under a year ago each day it still continues to look better….I had a neck lift and eye lift done at the same time and was pleased beyond my expectations….


A Tummy Tuck with Dr. Shafer is Amazing – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 19, 2013

I actually wish I could rate higher! I chose this Dr. based on his reviews and my review is just another great one added to his list of well deserved and earned reviews.


Life Changing Tummy Tuck Surgery – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 10, 2013

I choose Dr Shafer according to his reviews on RealSelf.com. Dr. Shafer was amazing, great bedside manner and extremely pleasant. He was so sweet and supportive the whole way through. I am truly grateful to have been in the hands of such a talented professional. Dr. David Shafer changed my life.


Getting Ready! – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 8, 2013

Originally found Dr. Shafer through real self . His reputation is amazing I’ve been researching him for the past two years and he Seems to do absolutely amazing work


I Literally Could Not Be Happier with Dr Shafer, His Staff, and the Results – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on November 16, 2012

I read all sorts of reviews online, some good, some scary, some bad. I chose Shafer Plastic Surgery and Dr. Shafer because they had nothing but positive reviews, and after looking through their website and speaking to Stacy at the office I had a good feeling about them. The first day I walked into Dr Shafer’s office and met Stacy and Elaine, I knew this was where I should have gone. They were so open and friendly, and made me feel like I was their favorite client when they didn’t even know me yet. Then I had the consultation with Dr Shafer and he took care to explain every single detail of every step of the process from that day through recovery (and I had lots of questions coupled with some serious anxiety about the anesthesia and recovery). Then Elaine came into the room and walked me through the financials and the rest of the details and she was the definition of professional/expert. Fast forward to the days leading up to the surgery and then the surgery itself. The staff at the office took all of my (many) calls and patiently answered my questions, calmed my fears and made sure I was comfortable with how everything was going to happen. Then the day of the surgery, Dr Shafer was there to walk me through everything again, re-discuss my goals, and even to calm me down in the operating room when I was anxious for things to start. I would recommend using Dr Shafer and his staff for any procedure you’re thinking of, because they are genuinely good people who are incredible in their field. Thank you guys! -Samantha


Great Experience! Highly Recommended – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on September 24, 2012

I found Dr. Shafer through general search for plastic surgeons in NYC. I was impressed with his achievements and recognition as well as his outreach work. I was doubly impressed when I met him and saw his office. I felt comfortable with him and his staff were all very kind and helpful. After the surgery Dr. Shafer called to check in and has been very responsive to emails. Overall great experience and would definitely recommend Dr. Shafer and his team.


My Big Fat Neck Is Gone and I Feel GREAT! – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on September 20, 2012

Highly recommended by several highly respected and qualified medical professionals. Dr. Shafer did an Amazing job. I had ZERO Bruising and some normal to be expected swelling. Everything Dr. Shafer promised was an understatement. Dr. Shafer is a very down to earth, friendly, likeable person with an ability to perform as a surgeon up there at the very top of all the plastic surgeons around (coast to coast). Let me add that Dr. Wade is the Greatest Anesthesiologist ever. A super nice/sweet and kind person, very caring and professional. You will feel right no worries with her. Relax, Trust them and let them to their magic. I drifted off for an hour and woke feeling no pain and clear minded… I highly recommend using Dr. Shafer and Dr Wade as a team. If you are considering having any procedure done. Please call Stacy in the office 212-888-7770 and make an appointment to meet and consult with Dr. Shafer. Stacy is very friendly and welcoming. When you meet Dr Shafer’s surgical coordinator Eileen you will agree that she is a Sweetheart… Extremely knowledgeable and professional with such a friendly persona. It has only been one week and I feel Great…. THANK YOU DR SHAFER & DR. WADE, You are the BEST!!!! Jerry M.


My New Body – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on September 17, 2012

I liked his approach and the way he explained the procedure. Everything turned out as exactly as he said it would.


Amazing. Been a Full Week Since My Tummy Tuck – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on September 5, 2012

You have to see it for yourself. I am telling you, he is 5 star all the way! I was highly recommended and highly referred by a friend who happens to be one of his very satisfied patients. After several consultations with other doctors, I am so glad and very fortunate that I found Dr. David Shafer. His professionalism and personal attention gave me and my husband a comfort level to move forward with the procedure. Also, his professional staff (Eileen) provided constant communication and support throughout the process. Right after my surgery, Dr. Shafer stayed in contact with my husband and even came to visit me the very next morning at my hotel. Thanks to Dr. Shafer and his amazingly skilled hands, he has changed my life and boosted my self-esteem.


Dr. Shafer is AMAZING! Worth Every Penny, It’s a New ME! – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on August 15, 2012

Dr. Shafer made me feel safe and he was very thorough in his explanations. We discussed options, he did not rush me, I had many questions being a nervous patient. The entire process was very collaborative and comforting. His beautiful office space is conveniently located in midtown. The staff was warm, helpful and welcoming. I highly recommend Dr. Shafer. Dr. Shafer was always available before and after my procedure. He really cares about his patients. His team was amazing. Thank you Dr. Shafer, you changed my life!


Body Was Shot From Three C-sections – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 16, 2012

I researched several doctors but was interested in Dr. Shafer because of the reviews I had read on him. My husband and I went to the consultation together- I was nervous because the building was ‘high end’ and in my experience people who work in these kinds of environments sometimes treat people with a lack of respect. However, we were treated with respect and kindness from everyone from beginning to end. Dr. Shafer was personable and caring as well as his entire staff. He spent a lot of time discussing our concerns and never made us feel like we were not his first priory. His personal assistant was equally as kind and also very quick with answering e-mails or calls. This was ALL before we agreed to the surgery. Once we decided to go with Dr. Shafer, we were given an appointment as soon as possible and he was truly wonderful. My husband asks a lot of questions and can sometimes be overwhelming for people, Dr. Shafer answered every question before and after the surgery. He never rushed us out of the office or off the phone. As far as my procedure goes, I feel like a new person. My results are wonderful! I happily wear bathing suits and form fitting shirts and dresses. My self-image has shot through the roof. I highly recommend Dr. Shafer, he and his staff are wonderful and you will be thrilled with your results. Worth every single penny.


Mommy Makeover with Dr. Shafer – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 4, 2012

Go see Dr. Shafer for yourself and you will walk away with the same feelings that I have.


Perfection! Upper and Lower Lid For Tired, Saggy, Puffy Eyes – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on June 29, 2012

I visited 3 doctors before choosing Dr. Shafer so you know I put much research into the procedure. First of all his demeanor is flawless. He is a friendly, personable, surgeon who speaks in a down to earth manner. He went over all the aspects of the surgery in detail, he was honest about what he though I did and did not need and what to expect. He asked me a lot of questions …rare these days! He didn’t rush me and was genuinely interested in my concerns and achieving the results I was looking for. Second he is a gifted surgeon. Nothing odd or over exaggerated was done to my eyes, none of that “surprised look” surgery with literally no visible scarring. Just a smooth, refreshed and bright eyed appearance. I get complements all the time on how well the surgery turned out and how I don’t look my age. Now I look as happy and bright on the outside as I feel on the inside and believe me it does change your outlook. I am very happy with the results. He called me after my procedure to make sure I was ok and to see if I needed anything. His staff is an awesome bunch of professionals who keep things running like a well oiled machine. Eileen his coordinator is AWESOME! There is no wait time ever and they are friendly, courteous and go out of their way to make you feel like a celebrity. His office is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, which helps calm the jitters. I would definitely recommend him and as a matter of fact he made the procedure so hassle free I am going to have my tummy tuck done next – Thank you Dr Dave!


I Highly Recommend This Office! – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on June 22, 2012

This office made something rather large and scary sooo easy and pleasant. Love them all! Beautiful office, super nice staff, and Dr. Shafer is a really nice guy… honest, caring, no upsell at all… I couldn’t have made a better choice, and I am thrilled with the results!


Dr. Shafer is Caring and Understanding. He Made Me in to a New Person – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on June 21, 2012

I am more than honored to have a say, in regard to Dr. David Shafer. He is definitely, “THE MAN,” for the job. To make a long story short, a general surgeon repaired the umbilical hernia but the plastic surgeon of his choice backed out because she thought it might be too much pain for me to endure at one time and to come back in a month. This went on for 5 months, I thought to myself, “Is there something wrong with me? Can this be corrected, cured or repaired?” I prayed to God because I’ve been depressed, crying, unable to do daily activities and mostly tied to my bed due to the pain. There were many times I thought about going to the emergency room but I knew, they would back out as well, while sending me home on pain med’s and I’m very picky when it comes to doctor’s. The last fearful doctor that cancelled on me told me he did not want to do the surgery because I was in pain. Isn’t that the purpose of surgery, in order for a person to become whole or restored back to their most current healthy, painless condition in nature? After the umbilical hernia, I was pain-free in the umbilicus. Anyway, he told me to go back to my first doctor to have him do it because he should have repaired it in the first place after performing my umbilical hernia. I had no choice but to take his advice and go “back,” to the general surgeon, who refused to see me. In desperation, I had to beg for an appointment, while at the same time he referred me back to the plastic surgeon of his choice, again. I did make the appointments with the both doctors but in the meantime, I hated the torture! I was in agony and no one cared. I googled: “Top General Plastic Surgeons in New York,” Dr. David Shafer was at the top of the list and I was given an appointment on the same day I was to see the other plastic surgeon. I went to see her and she was still just as edgy as the first general surgeon about the surgery but they both agreed to perform it as soon as they could get a date with the hospital. I left her office and went straight to Dr. Shafer’s office 20 blocks away. While sitting in the waiting room, it was if I had the jitters to run because I thought I was going to be wasting my time again with another doctor who was doubtful about my dilemma. I was actually going to run out but only God kept me in the seat and by that time Stacey (staff) came through the door with a warm greeting and a caring smile asking me to come with her. I was soooo nervous, I couldn’t run backwards and my feet continued forward, I couldn’t understand it. She bought me back into a plush suite and I was seated again. She made me feel comfortable but when she walked out, the jitters to run started again, then in came Dr. Shafer with the most handsomest, caring and confident smile. I was honestly taken aback because he was smiling without hearing my reason for being there! I explained everything to him, gave him the results from prior doctors along with the MRI and he stated, “Don’t worry, everything will be just fine.” I was shocked because, not only was he caring, but he actually chased my jitters away without realizing I was frantic in the beginning. This was an enigma because here I was looking into the eyes of a doctor who acted like he was 100 years old on the inside with such an ancient wisdom, knowledge and understanding. I had to ask him how old he was and how long he’s been doing this. He didn’t tell me his age (chuckle) but he told me he been in his profession for 8 years, but he’s does this kind of work all of the time and women with my condition who come in with a lot of pain are just fine after surgery. He also reassured me that he’s been told by prior caesarian section patients that their pain was actually worse than what I’m having done. I have to state, by this time, I was sold, whipped out my credit card and was ready for a surgery date the following week. Dr. Shafer called me the day after surgery to see how I was doing, I told him that I was feeling GREAT!!! I don’t feel like a new person, I am a new person!


Best Surgeon, Great Office Staff and Amazing Result! – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on June 21, 2012

Don’t you want both the BEST quality surgeon who can bring you the BEST possible results and BEST personalized care before and after who can answer your questions before and after the surgery and be there to help you through it? Making a decision to have a plastic surgery procedure is a BIG and SCARY decision. There are many questions and wonders…what if, how about, what happens after… Well, look no more! The office staff is highly trained, attentive and very caring. You’ve got their support! And Dr. Shafer, oh, he’s such a GREAT person and he happens to be a GREAT plastic surgeon! Do I have to explain more why they deserve 5-STAR review :-)??


Tummy Tuck Left with No Stretchmarks – New York

5 5 Star Rating - Written on February 7, 2012

OK I am giving this Doc 5 stars! I know u see 5 stars and u think no way, no one is perfect right? well in plastic surgery world this Doc is the best. A magician! Talented! I went in for a tummy tuck on 1/20/12 and couldn’t be more pleased. My results have been amazing. Sure went through the pain and soreness but now I am at week 2 and I am jumping up and down from joy from how the line looks and how he has been there every step of the way during my recovery. No question is to silly or too urgent this Doc will always answer! I am 33, a 17YR old son, and had a lot of stretchmarks. Conclusion: 0 stretchmarks (thanks Doc!) maybe like 1 left on the hip side but hey I’d take that over the bunch I had on my stomach. And at week 2 I am healing nicely but what amazes me the most is the LINE the LINE the LINE – it is as thin as can be and again 0 stretchmarks!! I am very happy w Dr. Shafer. I can honestly say he did an amazing job!


My Beautiful Breasts – New York

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 19, 2011

Dr. Shafer did not rush me. We had a very comfortable and realistic discussion about my hopes for the augmentation. My new breasts are beautiful and I am now the envy of dear friends who chose other surgeons years ago. I don’t believe I was a straightforward case as my natural breasts seemed to ‘look’ in different directions. Thank you Dr. Shafer for your surgical abilities and caring manner.


Excellent Plastic Surgeon – New York

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 10, 2011

Based on advice from doctors from RealSelf.com, I went to several consultations with Board Certified Plastic Surgeons. I found Dr. S to be the nicest, most skillful and caring plastic surgeon. He did my breast lift about a month ago and I could not be happier. The shape is great and the recovery was minimal. If anyone is looking for a great plastic surgeon in New York City, I highly recommend Dr. S


Great Results – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 10, 2011

Several people in my office have been talking about Dr. S, so I decided to try Botox. My experience was excellent and my results very natural.


Great Arms – New York

5 5 Star Rating - Written on April 19, 2011

Dr. S’s office was so helpful from everything from scheduling my consulting to scheduling my surgery and seeing me after the surgery.


Botox & Fillers & Ear Lobe – Refreshed & Rejuvenated

5 5 Star Rating - Written on March 18, 2011

Very calming person. Listens to your concerns. Makes suggestions and discusses a plan. We did little botox, filler for my eyes, forehead, earlobes and neck. I look fresh, alive, happy instead of worn out and over it. I trust his injection style – he seemed extremely comfortable and experienced.


New Baby and New Body! – New York

5 5 Star Rating - Written on March 7, 2011

Dr. S is kind, informed and he made me feel comfortable about wanted to look great again.


Great Work on my Eyes & Waddle : ) – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on March 4, 2011

Incredible surgeon. An artist.


Amazing Liposuction

5 5 Star Rating - Written on February 25, 2011

Very helpful and highly talented. After seeing many other doctors about liposuction, I booked a consultation with Dr. Shafer. I had read many great reviews and decided to see Dr. Shafer. I do not live in New York, so I arranged to email Dr. Shafer’s office photos that I took of my body. He talked with me over the phone and I decided to go to New York for the consult. During the appointment, Dr. Shafer really seemed focused on what he was doing and showed a true understanding of what I was looking for. He thought I would be a good candidate for the procedure and we booked it for later that week. I am so happy with my results. I am so happy that I had the surgery.


Cheek Bones – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on February 21, 2011

As I have aged, my cheek bones are less prominent and visibly look older. I saw several doctors and consultations that only suggested surgery for cheek implants. When I saw Dr. S, he offered me Juvederm injections on the cheekbones to help fill the missing volume. We did the treatment on that visit. He just needs a few shots, but it made a big difference right away. I recommended Dr. S to my friend and my two sisters already. He is excellent!


Eyelids – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on February 20, 2011

Dr. S’s office was so nice and friendly. We really trust him and his skills.


Love my New Self – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on February 14, 2011

To look younger and better. I am 56. After searching through several plastic surgeons and spending hours in consultations I decided to put my trust in Dr. S. After all he had impressive credentials.

Now, 2 months after my facelift and necklift operation, I could not have been happier with my decision. 15 years off my looks. I look at myself in the mirror and see me 15 years ago. It is amazing.

Thank you Dr. S for giving me my looks back.


Thrilled – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on February 6, 2011

My friend and I both had Smartlipo with Dr. S a few weeks ago. I had my chin done and my friend had her belly. We both are thrilled with the results.


I had breast implants placed in France 10 years ago – Excellent Experience – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on February 6, 2011

My experience with Dr. S was outstanding. His staff was very nice and his patient coordinator, Eileen, was so helpful.


Great Injectables & Smart-lipo – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on December 13, 2010

Best-in-class results plus super nice person. Anyone who has a consultation with Dr. S would not dream of seeing another plastic surgeon or derm. Make the time to meet him. Has done my botox for years. Had Juverderm to add some volume in my face a couple of years ago. Most recently we put some Sculptra to help my clevage area – way too much sun over the years. I look great and absolutely natural. A few weeks ago I did smartlipo on my arms…in and out in less than 2 hours on a Saturday morning. Toned looking arms – best fashion accessory for holidays. I see the difference in my turtle necks and will be good for strapless dresses with upcoming cocktail hours. Updated on 15 Dec 2010: Anyone who has a consultation with Dr. S would not dream of seeing another plastic surgeon or derm. Make the time to meet him. Has done my botox for years. Had Juverderm to add some volume in my face a couple of years ago. Most recently we put some Sculptra to help my clevage area – way too much sun over the years. I look great and absolutely natural. A few weeks ago I did smartlipo on my arms…in and out in less than 2 hours on a Saturday morning. Toned looking arms – best fashion accessory for holidays. I see the difference in my turtle necks and will be good for strapless dresses with upcoming cocktail hours. Bar-none recommendation for Dr S. Super great nice guy too if I did not mention.


Best Botox & Filler Injector – New York, NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on December 2, 2010

Very skilled, attentive and just plain nice


I Love my New Body! – New York

5 5 Star Rating - Written on November 27, 2010

My cousin had liposuction with Dr. S and her results were amazing. I had been thinking about having plastic surgery for a long time and after seeing my cousin, decided to go for it.


I Love my Breast Implants – NY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on November 17, 2010

I was talking to my medical doctor about wanting breast implants and she recommended that I see Dr. S. I had a few consultations with various plastic surgeons around town, but I felt the most comfortable with Dr. S. His staff was nice, all the patients in the waiting room love him and he spent time to go over all my questions. He even recommended that I come back a second time to ask more questions after I had time to digest all of the information. I am so happy Dr. S did my surgery – my breast look so nice.


Couldn’t Be More Pleased – Los Angeles

5 5 Star Rating - Written on October 14, 2010

My husband and I live in the West Coast and took our time choosing a plastic surgeon (saw 4 in total). Dr. S came to our attention by a stroke of good luck and we thought ‘why not’. After meeting him – it has a done deal. He is a true gentleman and had a great reputation from all we read. His staff spoke so highly of him – the hospital people did too on they day of our surgeries – you could tell it was from the heart. We both look like ourselves, which is what we wanted, but alive, fresh…better than we have in years. People are shocked when we say we are (newly) retired. Our kids are so happy for us.


Liposuction – Look No Further – This Dr. is It!

5 5 Star Rating - Written on October 12, 2010

Dr. S shaped me in the most natural, beautiful, feminine way. Lipo on my tummy, back, bum, legs. At 45, my body looks like a 25 year old version of myself, but even better than I did at that age. Everyone thinks I have been in the gym and have great genes. No muffin top, or marks from my clothing seams. I love myself naked for the first time in a long time. Dr. S is a hugely talented surgeon. Plus you can tell he is a genuinely nice and caring person – from my consultation to post-op visit, he is truly the most impressive person. Worth every single penny.


My Beautiful Skin Makes Me Happy! – New York City

5 5 Star Rating - Written on September 30, 2010

I love my skin to always appear youthful and clean. My own personal definition of being beauty is to have beautiful skin. I love Dr. S’s skin peels and botox treatment simply because it is a non-invasive process. Dr. S’s peel leaves a translucent glow and youthfullness that i definitely appreciate coupled with the botox treatment that i get. I think i found something that works for me.


Male Tummy Tuck, Well Worth It!!!

5 5 Star Rating - Written on June 19, 2010

Great staff – Skilled: – Great results from aesthetic point of view – And also there was very little pain and almost no swelling. – Follow up and great postop care.


Multiple Liposuction (Tummy, Love Handles, Neck) and Botox

5 5 Star Rating - Written on March 24, 2010

I was very hesitant to have any cosmetic procedure but having met with my Dr. I felt very comfortable expressing myself and taking the action I wanted. As a result, I had liposuction on my tummy and love handles and, later, of my neck. I also have botox injections several times a year.

I could not be happier with the result. When I catch a glimpse of myself in the mirror and see what the person I expect (but had given up on); youthful jaw line, narrow waist (but masculine), smooth skin, etc.

People are shocked to learn how old I am. Also, I feel like having the liposuction gave me a fresh start to get in shape so it has been very motivating to get toned.

I can’t imagine achieving this result with any other doctor. Dr. S has always been there when I needed him, for any visit, email or call to address the littlest concern I may have.


Juvederm for NL Folds.

5 5 Star Rating - Written on August 29, 2009

Dr.’s bedside manner is impeccable. He made me feel very comfortable and was communicative throughout the procedure. He used a dental block so the only pain I experienced was w/ the needle to numb the area. His assistant was also very professional and I felt completely at ease. I walked out looking great and had minimal swelling from the block.


Schedule a consultation


I agree to the Terms of Use

Our Location

10 E 53rd St, New York, NY 10022